Introductions…

It’s not a secret that I love training BJJ. My facebook/twitter is always full of jiu jitsu related material. It has changed my life, my outlook, my fitness and I have vastly grown my friend base.

One thing I find puzzling though, is even though I have always spoken positively about my favourite hobby to my friends, family and workmates; I haven’t been able to spark an interest in any one of them.

Whenever I have suggested that they could try a class I am often laughed at, usually citing homosexual remarks or acting out a cheesy ‘karate chop’ gesture.

20130918-180250.jpg

I’ve often wondered why it is so unappealing. Is it the close contact with another individual (something other sports like Rugby don’t seem to have a problem with), is it the terrible stigmatic image of traditional martial arts and it’s inept nerditude?

20130918-180412.jpg

Does the image of the dweeb in thick rimmed glasses posing with nunchucks on covers of martial arts magazines over the past few decades reflect badly on us even today? Is ‘UFC groundfighting’ (that’s how I’ve had BJJ described to me by a casual MMA fan) too brutal for the average Joe?

20130918-180914.jpg

When I said I haven’t been able to spark an interest in any one of my my friends/family/workmates, what I actually meant was I wasn’t able to convince anybody to try jiu jitsu – until recently.

Last Sunday, my cousin competed in his very first jiu jitsu competition after taking up jiu jitsu in April. The first person I have introduced to BJJ, and he’s hooked. I was right, just as I told him before his very first class – “You’ll love it, BJJ is awesome!”

VINDICATION!

I won’t stop advocating jiu jitsu to anybody who will listen, as I’m sure that you will! (Presumption! As I assume only avid jiu jitsu players will ever read this blog!)

DO NOT BE DISMAYED BY THE MOCKING, BJJ IS AWESOME AND YOU KNOW IT! LET THE PEOPLE KNOW! THEY’ll THANK YOU FOR IT!

This entry was posted in Me, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introductions…

  1. Rob Milligan says:

    I have friends who are really interested, even go as far as watching youtube tutorials, but I just can’t get them to come to a class. Lazy stoners!

Leave a Reply

